Just another interesting life …

More often than not, instinct and intuition are mistakenly perceived as one. In reality, they are two completely different concepts. Instinct is more of a biological trait. It’s our tendency to respond to our environment with a familiar impulse or tendency and is shared by all living creatures, human or otherwise. The famous concept of flight-or-fight, for instance, is an example of instinct in action. Intuition, on the other hand, is a phenomenal concept. One where factual perception of the truth occurs whether or not there is a foundation for the emergence of such a perception! In simpler terms, it’s that gut feeling or little voice deep down inside that tells you whether or not something is right. You don’t have to have past experience with regards to the situation, you don’t have to have prior knowledge concerning the subject, you don’t have to have any sort of input to reach that perception. It is, simply, a gift from God!

Whether or not you choose to follow your intuition is completely up to you. There are those who have learned how to be masters of its reign, others who hear that little voice inside and just phase it out and those who don’t even notice it anymore. Personally, I have learned to trust my intuition … blindly! It always came through loud and clear but I often felt like “I knew better”, “that could be wrong, it makes no sense” or “nonetheless, I’d still like to try”. It took me years and years, close to a decade in fact, to listen to that little voice deep down inside and submit to it, completely.

They say there is nothing like the intuition of a woman, I am inclined to concur. Not out of pride or arrogance but out of experience. I cannot recall a single instance in my life where my intuition steered me in the wrong direction … not once. Whether it be that first feeling I get about a person I have just met, the unshakable feeling that something is about to happen or the fact that my dreams have always guided me. Anyone who knows me well knows that I have been blessed with a very precious gift, many of my dreams turn into reality. I do not mean dreams as in goals, I mean dreams as in the ones you see when you are fast asleep! My closest friends take my dreams seriously, sometimes even fearing them. It’s a gift that I cannot explain but one that, just like my intuition, hasn’t failed me. Sometimes my dreams are about my family, my friends, my loved ones and people I miss but sometimes they are about strangers, co-workers, what name should my friend give to her baby or the make, model and color of the next car we’ll purchase! They’re unpredictable and, somehow, I am always able to identify which dreams are trying to tell me something and which are, just that, dreams.

My intuition, one way or another, always lets me know what I should do. It has helped me make major life decisions. It has helped me prevent and/or overcome major setbacks. It has helped me make the best of friends. It has helped me avoid a trip that I shouldn’t take. It has helped me know that something is wrong with a loved one thousands of miles away. It has helped me know that my child is having a tough day at school. Anything and everything that God ever wanted to warn me of, let me see, spare me or answer my prayers concerning, he let me know through my intuition. Ignoring it, being too distracted to listen to it or challenging it was my own fault and so the repercussions I fully deserved. And now that I am older, wiser and more mature I know that what I have to lose is much greater than what I could possibly ever gain by not listening to my intuition. I am a woman, I am a mother and I have unfathomable intuition given to me by our almighty God. I will not take that lightly … and neither should you.

Comments on: "30 Days Till 30 … Day 11: Intuition" (2)

  1. Anonymous said:

    It’s true, every time Heba tells me she had a dream about me it ends up coming true! And she practically named both my kids. Both times we already picked names and then after holding my babies we’d decide to name them something else, that something else ended up being the names Heba dreamed of!

    • Thank you for your comment and for visiting my blog 🙂 I’m not sure which of my friends you are, I can think of a couple, but I am glad I could help and hope that you love your babies’ names 😀

Leave a Reply

