Just another interesting life …

A Thank You Letter

It’s been quite a while since I last posted here, and I apologize for that. The life of a mother is always hectic and when your laptop breaks down, it doesn’t help at all! As soon as we got my laptop fixed, the Holy month of Ramadan was just around the corner so I disconnected from the virtual world … and now I am back 🙂

The Holy month of Ramadan is the month we wait for most all year. One achieves a sense of calm and inner peace during this wonderful month. Amongst its unique qualities, it is also a month of contemplation and giving thanks for each and everything you have and that has been bestowed upon you. In continuance of the spirit of gratitude, I decided to go ahead and do something that I’ve started doing 10 years ago and been wanting to get back to for at least 5 years now!

No one knows what tomorrow carries for us and so I am a big fan of taking care of the things that matter most as soon as you can. Today, I am writing a thank you letter, with a spin! A thank you letter to anyone and everyone who has made a difference in my life, in one way or another, intentionally or unintentionally, big or small, physically or emotionally. It’s a habit of mine to give credit where credit is due and to let those around me know that they do make a difference, no matter how small. Rather than just saying a vague “thank you”, I always like to go up to the person I’d like to address and tell them exactly what it is that they did that I am thankful for. I believe that makes them feel more special and more appreciated. And if, for any reason, I can’t do it in person, I go ahead and do it via a phone call or email … this will be the first time I ever do it in any other way! I hope that the people I fell out of touch with stumble upon this post and find out how much I appreciate having them in my life at one point of time.

I chose to strip the names of the people I am addressing down to their initials out of respect for their privacy, but I am sure that each and every person who will read this post, and is mentioned in it, will know exactly which part addresses them. Even people who don’t know me personally and have never met me will relate. I am sure that you will find many cases where, once you read what I wrote, a familiar spark inside of you will ignite, reminding you of a similar someone who has left a print on your life. Maybe I’ll be an inspiration and encourage you to bestow this act of kindness and gratitude on those you care about most.

I will be revisiting my “Thank You Letter” every chance I can get and make sure to add to it, so keep coming back and checking it often* …

C.W (formerly C.H): You’ve been one of my best friends since we were 11 and I am more that grateful for finding you again after 16 long years. You are more like a sister to me and I cherish your kindness, purity and your unending belief in me. Thank you for being the most amazing person I have ever met! God bless you and your family.

L.K: Being unique is never easy and you were the person who taught me that being different is something to be proud of. Thank you for teaching me one of the most important lessons in life through leading by example. Thank you for always being there for me, believing in me and “saving” me.

I.A: You are my closest friend and are always there for me. There are so many times in my life where I feel like your presence by my side and your support helped me overcome whatever hardships I was facing. Thank you for coming up to me in that place of worship and introducing yourself, I don’t know what I would have done without you, my sister. May Allah bless you and your family.

R.A: You are the only friend that I was ever there for during her childbirth! And I intend to keep it that way. I know that you disappear and that it is out of your hands but I also know how much you love me and always remember me. Thank you for making me part of your family and thank you for always being there for me. You are one of the few people I trust with everything because I know that you are a sealed vault. I hope
I can be there for  you when the new baby comes, but if that doesn’t happen, know that I will be there in spirit. May Allah bless you and your family and make the new baby a new, strong link between you.

A.M: I have said it time and time again, I will never ever forget the tremendous amount of loving support you gave me when I first took the plunge and wore the Hijab! You were probably the only person who immediately made me feel like I did the right thing. I hope that, one day, Allah will make your daughters cross paths with people who do the same for them. I am forever in your debt and wish you and your family, a happy, successful, fruitful life.

A.S: Thank you for giving me my very first unicorn 😀 It meant a lot to me at the time, just to have someone express their love to me in a way that is so “me” was unbelievable, especially that we hadn’t been friends for long! Feeling understood was just phenomenal and so self-assuring at that critical age.

U.K: You are the bubbliest friend I have ever had! You are so upbeat, it’s refreshing. And those years we were close friends, although they were 2 decades ago, meant a lot to me and alleviated a lot off of my shoulders. Thank you for introducing me to Sugar magazine (LOL), I know it wasn’t yours though 🙂 I am so proud of you for all your efforts with your studies and with T. and T., they are very lucky to have you as a mother and I am so lucky to have you as a friend and to have found you after all these years. God bless you and your family.

Amelia: I don’t even know your last name Amelia but I promise you that there will be a complete post just about you soon. You are the most amazing 4 year old girl I have ever met! My daughter is turning 4 in a couple of weeks and if she turns out to be as strong as you were when I met you, I’d be more than happy. At that tender age, you were the person who taught me strength, who taught me that love does not need to be expressed with words, who made me realize that, one day, I want to be a mother to a little girl. I don’t know where you are now but I hope you are happy, healthy and successful and hope that you have learned that crying is OK sometimes (although I wish, from the bottom of my heart, that you never experience anything to make you cry). I still have the goodbye note your mother sent to my class on your behalf on my last day in school and I cherish it more than you can ever imagine. I love you so much and miss you every single day!

P.S: I know that you always gave me a hard time back in school but I always knew that you were a kind person inside. I totally forgive you and P.L (who is blind and needs to grow up, by the way) for trying to make me break my fasting during Ramadan. I remember you fondly and have always loved you. My respect for you has grown tremendously when I reconnected with you and found out what kind of person you turned out to be! You are such a grounded person, you have your priorities straight, you are pursuing your dreams and you are a fabulous mother. I really believe that L. and P. are so lucky to have you as their mother. You are doing a great job and I hope that I see you always happy. God bless you and your family and may all your days be filled with never-ending happiness and love.

H.O: I love you loads, you know that, but why do you love that horrible color so much? LOL 🙂 I’ve been trying to make peace with that fact for almost a decade now and it’s just not happening, sorry! I miss you and miss our unbelievably long emails. I hope that you always realize all your dreams, be successful, happy and healthy. I am glad to have such a supportive and kind friend as you. You are the person I feel most at ease with and expressing myself to you is always … easy. Thank you for being there to listen and thank you for trusting me enough to listen to you. I know you already have a very close sister but I consider you to be my sister as well. May Allah bless you and your family.

D.S: I don’t even know where to begin! You are such an amazing person, truly. You are the purest, kindest, most lovable person in the world! I have never ever met, nor will ever meet, someone as pure as you are. I really think that you are the closest person to being an angel! And you know that all our friends agree with me. I love you so much and appreciate you doing your best to always touch base with me. You have always been loads of fun and you are the only person in the world who has managed to make me laugh till I cry! I cannot tell you how much I love you and how proud I am of you. The only thing I wish you’d change, is to take better care of yourself, because you are important and everything else comes after that. I hope to see you always happy, successful, healthy and smiling 🙂

* Please note that the order in which the names are listed is completely random, it is of no true significance, other than the fact that I happened to recall someone at that particular point in time.

Leave a Reply

